Oo-er, first post…

…and I’m not 29 yet! Is that breaking the rules? Hang on, it’s my blog – can I make my own rules?!

With my twenty-ninth birthday looming on the horizon, it has inevitably dawned on my that this really is the last year of my twenties approaching. And this panics me.

WHERE DID THE LAST DECADE GO??

In the last 10 years, I have gone through the following experiences:

  • Passed my driving test
  • Met a man and fell in love
  • Moved in with said man
  • Got married
  • Bought my first house
  • Owned eight different cars
  • Had 2 car accidents
  • Been to France 10 times
  • Fallen into debt
  • Dragged self out of debt
  • Experienced major relationship turmoils
  • Overcome major relationship turmoils
  • Changed jobs 3 times
  • Started and subsequently gave up a degree

 

And that’s just to name a few of the good and bad highlights. It sounds like a busy time, and it has been. It’s also been a difficult time. To get serious for a minute I entered my twenties an entirely different person to the one who will be leaving them. The experiences of the last decade have forced me to grow up, often in a steep learning curve, and I feel like I’ve spent the whole time ‘getting over’ and ‘dealing with’ so many things that I have rarely lifted my head to look around and remember to enjoy life.

ENTER YEAR TWENTY-NINE! So I find myself here almost at the beginning of a year that I am not going to take for granted. I am married to the love of my life, and we have a happy, stable relationship (except the times when I’m screaming at him for not picking up his socks, and he’s sulking at me for trying to give him veg with his dinner – but those times are a given!). I have a lovely little home, which we are redecorating to our own style. I have a loving, supportive family to whom I owe a great deal for their help over the rough periods. I am more financially stable then I’ve ever been.

All sounds like a pretty solid foundation for twenty-ninth year to come ALIVE!

Leave a Reply

