Day 17 – Buns of steel, here I come!

My alarm was set for 5.15 this morning. 5.15!! The only time I have ever previously agreed to get up at that hour is to go on holiday. If only that was the case today.

Alas, no. To my dismay, as I blinked in confusion in the darkness, scrabbling to find the offending alarm (which by now was half-way through playing Smooth Criminal at a deafening volume) I remembered I was headed for a 7am gym induction.

Cue muttered curses.

“Damn you Mr TwentyNine for booking the induction for a Monday morning. Damn you flawless celebs with your perfect pins that make me feel like I need to go to the gym in the first place. Damn you new boots that will look absolutely amazing with a miniskirt but not my cellulite. Damn you all to hell.”

And then:

“Ooh – I get to have a sugary flapjack for breakfast!”

And I was down the stairs faster than you can say ‘carbohydrates’.

How happy do I look?!

___________________________________________________

An hour later I was stood with Mr TwentyNine at the reception desk of the leisure centre, having my photo taken on a webcam that was positioned roughly level with my cleavage. Up-the-nose shots are never flattering – but a 6:30am up-the-nose shot is only ever going to produce gargoyle-esque results! Thank god I’d had the sense to put on a bit of foundation and mascara at least. (I still haven’t seen the offending picture, by the way – it’s not printed on my membership card. But I’m sure the reception staff will have a good laugh every time I check in and my puffy over-tired mug pops up on their screen).

The induction was far less painful than paying the membership fee had been. As we’ve been gym members before (haha, not that we ever actually went…) we only needed a refresher induction apparently – although most of the machines in the weight room were completely alien to me. The poor woman did her best to explain the difference between the abductor and adductor hip machines, but I’d forgotten by the time she’d stopped talking! I figure I’ll just use them both for equal amounts of time and hope for the best.

Or avoid them completely.

Given that I had to start work at 8:30, we really only had until 7:45 to get our workouts done (which for me was surprisingly painless 10 mins on the exercise bike and 20 mins on the cross trainer)  and still leave enough time for showering, and for me to dry my stubborn old hair under a hand-drier that would only work if you kept your hand on the button. I gave up halfway through and decided to go for the oh-so-stylish bedraggled look.

I was so pleased to discover that – since my days at this very same leisure centre as a kid – they’d put in private shower cubicles. Hurrah! I don’t understand why they weren’t always there. Why do communal showers even exist – am I the only one who likes my body to be a private thing? I have absolutely no desire to flash my/see someone else’s wrinkly bits before my breakfast, thank you very much!

ANYWAY – it was a great start, and I felt fantastic until the early afternoon, when I seriously started to flag and realised that I have to start giving my body more of the food it needs for the energy I’m now using. A difficult thing to get into your head, if you’re trying to lose weight, but it’s absolutely essential to eat right. Tomorrow, this will be rectified.

Food For Thought

Carrying on from the train of thought above, I did my research and found a really good, nutritious, protein-filled meal for dinner – which really tasted amazing and so much nicer than my photo makes it look!

Seared soy tuna steaks with spring onions & a ginger sweet potato mash 

And here’s the BBC Good Food recipe – it’s a really simple must-try!

Ingredients

  • 600g sweet potatoes , peeled and chopped
  • butter
  • a thumb-sized piece ginger , peeled and grated
  • vegetable oil
  • 1 bunch spring onions , chopped into 2cm pieces
  • 2 tuna steaks
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce

Method

  1. Add the potatoes to a pan of boiling water and cook until tender. Drain then put back in the pot with a knob of butter and the ginger then mash until smooth. Keep warm.
  2. Heat a little oil in a wide pan and add the onions. Cook for about 5 minutes until softened. Move the onions to the edge of the pan and turn up the heat. Add the tuna and cook for 1 minute each side for rare, 2 for medium. Add the soy sauce to the pan and turn the tuna and onions to coat.
  3. Serve the tuna topped with the onions and the mash on the side.

PER SERVING

539 kcalories, protein 41g, carbohydrate 64g, fat 13 g, saturated fat 4g, fibre 8g, salt 6 g

Leave a Reply

