Days 29 & 30 – Lazy local weekend… in pictures!

Sometimes you just have to slow it down and have a lazy weekend – so that’s exactly what I did.

Friday was date night with hubby at the cinema. We realised we hadn’t been to the cinema since March – we seem to do that, have a phase of going all the time and then not go for months on end! But we both love it, and Mr had been eyeing up the trailers for Looper all week so we thought it would be a nice Friday treat. The evening itself was lovely – the film was not! I am not a huge fan of action/sci-fi type films, and I am squeamish as anything so a film full of slow-mo images of people being blasted in the stomach was probably not the best thing for me to go and see! It was worth it for the popcorn though, and to be fair I thought Joseph Gordon-Levitt was fantastic(ly hot). Next to see will be SkyFall, and THAT I will love! I find guns and gore are much easier to handle when Daniel Craig is there on the screen to distract you.

Oh, and there was a brief moment of much hilarity in the car on the way home, where Mr TwentyNine wondered aloud if the film was a big scientology drive as “They study telekinetics too” – cue me wetting myself laughing and saying “No you fool – that’s calinetics!” at which Mr TwentyNine nearly swerved off the road in a fit of hysterics saying “No, that’s aerobics! My mum used to do it on a Saturday morning!!”

Later that night, lying in bed with the lights out drifting off to sleep:

Me: DIANETICS!!

Mr TwentyNine: That’s the one!

Gentle snores of satisfaction.

Saturday was a gorgeously sunny day, but I’d stupidly booked myself in for a hair cut and colour at 2pm so couldn’t really go very far to make the most of the weather! Mr TwentyNine was working, so I opted to take a trip into town for a browse around the shops. (Note – wearing my skinny jeans for the first time in 4 months! They fit again! So regardless of my scales refusing to acknowledge my gym efforts, my body must be doing something right! *sticks two fingers up at scales*)

I managed to grab a bargain pair of work trousers for £9.99 and 2 lovely thin cottony jumpers from New Look for £15 each, one in navy/white stripes and the other in a deep burgundy. Love the style of them, they’re cut to waistband length at the front but left longer at the back to cover your bottom, which is much appreciated until the gym starts to take effect on my glutes a little bit more!

Picked up some gorgeous new glittery nail varnish in Boots (Revlon’s Sparkling) and treated myself to a new mascara (Maybelline’s The Falsies – in waterproof so I don’t sweat it all off at the gym!). Have only just recently started using my Boots advantage card and am already enjoying reaping the benefits – £2 off the mascara!

Revlon – ‘Sparkling’

I did try and find a new foundation, but to no avail. I have such temperamental skin, I really struggle to find something that gives full coverage (to cover blemishes) but that doesn’t clog up my pores and give me even more spots! Clinique’s Superpowder Double Face Powder is the best I’ve found, but it gives a bit of a dull look and I fancy a change. If anyone has any suggestions, let me know!

I was also reaping the charity shop bargains on Saturday. I managed to get some new leather shoes for work (unworn) for £4, a large black leather-look handbag for £5, and a real Italian leather navy blue handbag for £3.50! That last purchase was definitely bargain of the day, I’m in love with it and it goes perfectly with my new stripey jumper.

My lovely navy blue leather bag

I really love unusual shaped bags. My parents bought me a stunning pyramid-shaped Texier bag for my 21st birthday, and I adore it. I rarely used it until recently for fear of damaging it, but have decided life’s too short and there’s not much point in having it if it never gets seen!

TK Maxx also came up trumps with the Joseph Joseph chopping board I’d been eyeing up for weeks down to £5.99. It’s fantastic – when you pick the board up, the sides fold in so you can scrape everything you’ve just chopped into the saucepan without it falling off the edges. Ingenious, and it proved very useful just a few hours later when I made my homemade chunky guacamole (see below)!

Joseph Joseph chopping board – in pink, of course!

All spent out!

All spent out, it was hair cut and colour time. I’ve been loving the blonde highlights I had put through my hair for the summer, but with winter upon us I want to go for something a bit more suitable for the season, so reverted to my reddy tones. Which wasn’t my intention at all – I wanted a deep chocolate brown, but I always get sidetracked once I sit down in the hairdressers’ chair and start looking at all the lovely vibrant colours! One of these days, I WILL go bright red all over!!

Back to red (almost impossible to photograph as it was so shiny!)

What followed was a deliciously lazy evening in front of the TV, flicking between the Ryder Cup and the X Factor (oh the shame…) with a yummy dinner of lime and pepper chicken fajitas with homemade chunky guacamole… more about that below in a minute!

Sunday morning we had decided to head down to Truro for the Cornwall Food and Drink Festival. Since we started on our healthiness quest, I’ve really started to want to know more about my food, what I’m putting into my body, where it came from, and other things that really and truthfully should have concerned me a long time before now! Better late than never I guess.

It was so fantastic to see such mouth-watering fresh produce from all these companies that were (in some instances) literally on our doorstep! We set ourselves up well with a freshly-cooked thick-cut 8 week dry cured bacon bap, and then proceeded to hit the stalls where we sampled everything from sausages to cider to brownies to bread to fudge! YUM!

Cornish Haute Dog, anyone?!

Check out this amazing barn owl made from fruit and veg!

I could quite happily have bought something from every stall there, but we paced ourselves and came away with:

  • 1 litre Cornish Orchards Mulled Cider (sampled – incredible!!).
  • 2 steak and ale pies from Grumpies of Cornwall.
  • 2 packs of sausages – 1 x pork and asparagus (again, samples were out of this world delicious!) and 1 x pork with apple juice, both from Tamblyn’s.
  • A baguette from the Da Bara Bakery (‘da ‘bara’ is Cornish for ‘good bread’!).
  • A white chocolate brownie from The Brownie Baker for Mr TwentyNine!
  • A jar of Krellow red pepper relish for my Mum.

Delicious local produce!

I am so glad we went, it was a fantastic atmosphere. Besides the stalls, there were live demonstrations from well-known local chefs and although we didn’t have time to stop and watch much of these, it was great to hear it all going on in the background.

So looking at the above, can you guess what we came home and ate straight away??

Yup, sausage baguettes! The sausages are just incredible – anyone who thinks they’re getting good sausages from a frozen bag in Asda can think again – you MUST try fresh and some different flavours!

I have to confess that shortly after eating those, I might have had a little 2 hour nap! It wasn’t intended – one minute I was leaning on Mr TwentyNine on the sofa, the next I was waking up in a rather attractive puddle of drool I’d left on his leg! Hahaha, I am not a cute sleeper. After having the chance to wake up a little bit I spent the rest of the evening finishing a website I’ve been designing, which gave me a great excuse to use my new desk chair that I bought on holiday.

Any guesses what colour…?

Pantone Desk Chair

All in all, it was a lovely over-indulgent weekend – for which I know I will pay financially and physically for the rest of the week!

Food For Thought

Oooh this was Saturday night dinner and it was delicious. Both of the following are BBC Good Food recipes – don’t know what I’d do without that website!

Lime and Pepper Chicken Wraps

Lime and Peppers Chicken Wraps (with homemade chunky guacamole!)

  • 4 skinless chicken breasts , each cut into 6 strips
  • zest and juice 2 limes
  • 2 tsp black peppercorns , coarsely crushed
  • 1 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 6 tortillas wraps
  • 200g tub guacamole (or make your own)
  • 1 Little Gem lettuce , shredded
  • 148ml low-fat natural yoghurt tub (I used fat-free Greek yoghurt as I had some to use up)

 

  1. Toss the chicken with the lime zest and juice, pepper, oil and a little salt. Cook on a griddle pan or barbecue for 6-8 mins, turning until evenly cooked and nicely browned.
  2. Heat the tortillas in the microwave, following pack instructions. Spread a little guacamole over each tortilla, top with some lettuce and chicken, then drizzle over the yoghurt. Roll up and enjoy.

 

And I made the below with about 2/3 of the quantity (this is apparently meant to serve 8, but we ate the 2/3 between two of us!) I don’t think my avocados were quite ripe enough so it was a little bit difficult to mix. Lesson learned!

Chunky Guacamole

Chunky Guacamole

  • 1 large ripe tomato
  • 3 avocados , very ripe but not bruised
  • juice 1 large lime
  • handful coriander , leaves and stalks chopped, plus a few leaves, roughly chopped, to serve
  • 1 small red onion , finely chopped
  • 1 chilli , red or green, deseeded and finely choppe

 

  1. Use a large knife to pulverise the tomato to a pulp on a board, then tip into a bowl. Halve and stone the avocados (saving a stone) and use a spoon to scoop out the flesh into the bowl with the tomato.
  2. Tip all the other ingredients into the bowl, then season with salt and pepper. Use a whisk to roughly mash everything together. If not serving straight away, sit a stone in the guacamole (this helps to stop it going brown), cover with cling film and chill until needed.
Leave a Reply

